Council 2019 vote

Council (2017-2023)

Archived page

The LWF Council concluded its term of office on the 20 of September 2023.

Find information on the current LWF Council.

Our Council governs the LWF between Assemblies. Its members are elected by the Assembly.

The LWF Council consists of member churches representatives, elected by the Assembly. It meets once a year to ensure that LWF is satisfactorily organized and run according to its defined purpose and in accordance with resolutions made by the Assembly. 

  • The Council shall decide on the budget of the LWF and safeguard the proper control and management of the LWF’s assets.
  • The Council shall receive the audited annual financial statements of the LWF and approve them.
  • The Council may, when necessary, authorize the Executive Committee to approve the audited annual financial statements.
  • The Council shall define the strategy of the LWF according to decisions and actions made by the Assembly.
  • It elects the General Secretary. It meets once a year.

Meet the 48 Council Members

ADA EPSE MAINA, Rev. Dr Jeannette, Evangelical Lutheran Church of Cameroon (CAMEROON)

ALBECKER, Mr Christian, Union of Protestant Churches of Alsace and Lorraine (FRANCE)

ANDO, Ms Fu, Japan Evangelical Lutheran Church (JAPAN)

ANTONSEN, Rev. Jacob Breda, The Evangelical Lutheran Free Church of Norway (NORWAY)

ÁRNADÓTTIR, Rev. Thuridur Björg Wiium, The Evangelical Lutheran Church of Iceland (ICELAND)

AZAR, Ms Sally, The Evangelical Lutheran Church in Jordan and the Holy Land (PALESTINE)

BORGOARY, Ms Ranjita Christi, Northern Evangelical Lutheran Church (INDIA)

BRABAND, Ms Julia, Evangelical Church in Central Germany (GERMANY)

CHANG, Bishop Chun Wa, The Evangelical Lutheran Church of Hong Kong (HONG KONG)

CHEN, Rev. Selma (Shu-Chen), The Lutheran Church of Taiwan (REPUBLIC OF CHINA)

DAVILA LLIMPE, Rev. Ofelia, Lutheran Church of Peru (PERU)

DIBISA, Rev. Yonas Yigezu, The Ethiopian Evangelical Church Mekane Yesus (ETHIOPIA)

DRANGSHOLT, Dr Kjetil, Church of Norway (NORWAY)

EATON, Presiding Bishop Elizabeth A., Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (USA)

FLIPPIN JR., Rev. William Edward, Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (USA)

FRIEDRICH, Rev. Dr Nestor Paulo, Evangelical Church of the Lutheran Confession in Brazil (BRAZIL)

GARCIA VIDRIO, Mr Samuel Alejandro, Mexican Lutheran Church (MEXICO)

HIETAMÄKI, Dr Minna, Evangelical Lutheran Church of Finland (FINLAND)

JACKELÉN, Archbishop Dr Antje, Church of Sweden (SWEDEN)

JULY, Bishop Dr h.c. Frank O., Evangelical Lutheran Church in Württemberg (GERMANY)

KERKETTA, Rev. Dr Christ Sumit, Gossner Evangelical Lutheran Church (INDIA)

KEZA DAWAÏ, Ms Florence, Church of the Lutheran Brethren of Cameroon (CAMEROON)

KLÁTIK, Bishop em. Dr Miloš, Evangelical Church of the Augsburg Confession in the Slovak Republic (SLOVAK REPUBLIC)

KLEIST, Pröpstin Astrid, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Northern Germany (GERMANY)

KOCHENDORFER, Bishop Larry, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada (CANADA)

MAGWAZA, Mr Khulekani S., Evangelical Lutheran Church in Southern Africa (SOUTH AFRICA)

MBISE, Ms LoeRose, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Tanzania (TANZANIA)

MIRGELER, Oberkirchenrat Olaf Johannes, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Northern Germany (GERMANY)

MOYO, Rev. Elitha, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Zimbabwe (ZIMBABWE)

MUNYIKA, Bishop Dr Veikko, The Evangelical Lutheran Church in Namibia (NAMIBIA)

MUSA, Archbishop Dr Panti Filibus, Lutheran Church of Christ in Nigeria (NIGERIA)

NAVRÁTILOVÁ, Rev. Dr Olga, Evangelical Church of Czech Brethren (CZECH REPUBLIC)

OBERDORFER, Prof. Dr Bernd, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Bavaria (GERMANY)

PHILIP, Ms Cheryl, Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (USA)

RAKOTOZAFY, Rev. Dr Denis, the Malagasy Lutheran Church (MADAGASCAR)

SCHMIDT-KLIE, Mr Lasse, Evangelical Lutheran Church of Hanover (GERMANY)

SEYENKULO, Bishop Dr Jensen, Lutheran Church in Liberia (LIBERIA)

SOJKA, Dr Jerzy Janusz, Evangelical Church of the Augsburg Confession in Poland (POLAND)

STEILMANN FRANCO, Rev. Karla M., Evangelical Church of the River Plate (PARAGUAY)

STEINKE, Rev. Dr Robin, Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (USA)

STUBKJÆR, Bishop Henrik, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Denmark (DENMARK)

SUMBAYAK, Ms Desri Maria, The Indonesian Christian Church (INDONESIA)

TELAUMBANUA, Bishop Dr Tuhoni, The Protestant Christian Church (INDONESIA)

TKACH, Ms Vera, Federation of Evangelical Lutheran Churches in Russia and Other States (RUSSIAN FEDERATION)

VALERIANO, Mr Johanan Celine, Lutheran Church in the Philippines (THE PHILIPPINES)

VIILMA, Archbishop Urmas, Estonian Evangelical Lutheran Church (ESTONIA)

VITIELLO, Ms Cordelia, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Italy (ITALY)

WAMBUA, Ms Faith Mwikali, Kenya Evangelical Lutheran Church (KENYA)

WESTFELD, Ms Bettina, Evangelical Lutheran Church of Saxony (GERMANY)

YAP, Bishop Aaron Chuan Ching, Lutheran Church in Malaysia (MALAYSIA)


The LWF Constitution stipulates due representation of ordained and lay persons, women, men and youth.

The term of office for Council members ends at the close of the next ordinary Assembly. Members are eligible for one re-election.

LWF President Archbishop Dr Panti Filibus Musa. Photo: LWF
Archbishop Dr
Panti Filibus Musa
Elected by the Assembly

The Executive Committee oversees the proper functioning of the LWF between Council meetings.

The Executive Committee shall normally meet semi annually, with one meeting in conjunction with the Council meeting. 

The Council appoints from its membership committees and sub-committees to direct specific areas of work as needed and designates their chairpersons.

In addition, the Council may elect up to 21 advisers to the Committees to provide professional competence and expertise.

Previous Council Documents